Deborah Byers Outstanding Service Award

This annual award is presented to recognize the outstanding contributions of an individual in the field of financial aid through contributions to KASFAA. A person is only eligible to receive this award once.

Robb Cummings	Sallie Mae	2023
Angela Zeorlin	Wichita State University	2022
Darcy Johnson	Emporia State University	2021
Sara Vancil	University of Kansas	2020
Diane Lindeman	Kansas Board of Regents	2019
Diana VanDyke	Butler County Community College	2018
Myra Pfannenstiel	Newman University	2017
Keith Fitzsimmons	University of Kansas Medical Center	2016
Gary Bateman	Ottawa University	2015
Tony Tanking	Benedictine College	2014
Bruce Lopez	Credit World Services	2013
Thad Davidson	Emporia State University	2012
Kathy Blau	Garden City Community College	2011
Connie Corcoran	Emporia State University	2010
Gail Palmer	Washburn University	2009
Brent Carpenter	USA Funds	2008
Mandy Sponholtz	USA Funds	2007
Annita Huff	Washburn University	2006
Marion Jones	Emporia State University	2005
Rita Jones	Commerce Bank of Topeka	2004
Craig Karlin	Fort Hays State University	2003
Cheryl Bellinger	Bank of America	2002
Julia Esau	College Board (The)	2001
Chris Johnson	University of Kansas	2000
Anthony Lyons	Dodge City Community College	1999
Deb Byers	Wichita State University	1998
Jeanne Mott	Baker University	1997
Wilma Kasnic	Emporia State University	1996
Glenna Alexander	Kansas Wesleyan University	1995
Connie Holmes	Security Bank of Kansas City	1994
Larry Moeder	Kansas State University	1993
Billie Jo Hamilton	University of Kansas Medical Center	1992

Rita Bayles	Student Aid Specialist, Inc	1991
Mary Dover	Johnson County Community College	1990
Don Siemsen	Manhattan Area Vo-Tech School	1989
Janet Dodson	Bethany College	1988
Larry Prather	Bryan Institute	1987
Glenn 'Skip' Sharp	NW Kansas Area Vo-Tech School	1986
Dick Koontz	Bethel College	1985

Bruce Lopez Meritorious Achievement Award

To receive this award, the individual should have made either an important single contribution or significant multiple contributions to KASFAA or the profession.

Crystal DeLong	Citizens Bank	2023
Laura Weiss-Cook	Manhattan Area Technical College	2022
Debbie Brewer	Johnson County Community College	2021
Thad Davidson	Emporia State University	2020
Darcy Johnson	Emporia State University	2019
Bruce Lopez	Credit World Services	2018
Julie Scott	Wichita State University	2017
Gary Bateman	Ottawa University	2016
Lois Madden	Kansas Wesleyan University	2016
Robert 'Buzz' Kliethermes	Windham Professionals	2015
Danielle Sullivan	University of Kansas	2014
Brenda Hicks	Southwestern College	2013
Keith Fitzsimmons	University of Kansas Medical Center	2012
Kansas Board of Regents		2011
Donna Carter	Wichita State University	2010
Diane Lindeman	Kansas Board of Regents	2009
John Pappas	Student Loan Xpress	2008
Elaine Henrie	Emporia State University	2007
Cheryl Bellinger	Bank of America	2006
Anthony Lyons	Dodge City Community College	2005
Bob Kelly	Kansas Independent College Association	2004
Valerie Wirthman	US Bank	2003
Deanna Mann	Garden City Community College	2002
Chris Johnson	University of Kansas	2001
Jeanne Mott	Baker University	2000
Sheldon Woolery	Ottawa University	1999
Billie Jo Hamilton	University of Kansas Medical Center	1996
Glenn 'Skip' Sharp	NW Kansas Area Vo-Tech School	1995
Dice Bonham	HELP of Kansas, Inc	1994

Hall of Fame

This is the highest award given by KASFAA. The recipients will have contributed significantly to the financial aid profession for a minimum of fifteen years.

Thad Davidson	Emporio Stato University	2022
Thad Davidson	Emporia State University	2023
Jana Parks	Baker University	2023
Cindy Kleinsorge	Johnson County Community College	2022
Gary Bateman	Ottawa University	2021
Brenda Hicks	Southwestern College	2021
Diane Lindeman	Kansas Board of Regents	2021
Bruce Lopez (posthumously)	Credit World Services	2020
Stephanie Covington	University of Kansas	2019
Debbie Brewer	Johnson County Community College	2018
Brenda Maigaard	University of Kansas	2017
Linda Oldham-Burns	Kansas Board of Regents	2016
Elaine Henrie	Emporia State University	2015
Tony Lubbers	Friends University	2014
Connie Cochran	Emporia State University	2013
Robb Cummings	Sallie Mae	2012
Robert Gamez	Kansas State University	2012
Shirley Chappel	Credit World Services	2012
Myra Pfannenstiel	NSLP	2011
Judy Getty	Fort Hays State University	2011
Keith Fitzsimmons	University of Kansas Medical Center	2010
Anthony Lyons	Dodge City Community College	2009
Deb Byers	Wichita State University	2008
Carol Wirthman	US Bank	2008
Tom Melecki	NSLP	2008
Julie Cooper	Johnson County Community College	2007
G. Susie Edwards	Butler County Community College	2006
Larry Viterna	USA Funds Services	2006
Janet Emch	Emporia State University	2005
Larry Moeder	Kansas State University	2005
Jeanne Mott	Baker University	2004
Wilma Kasnic	Emporia State University	2003
Marilyn Haverly	Pittsburg State University	2002
Kay Barnes	Sterling College	2001
Christy Crenshaw	Kansas State University	2000
Kansas Board of Regents		2000
-		

Gary Schultz	Colby Community College	1998
Garnett Bloomcamp	Pittsburg State University	1996
Don Davis	American College Testing (ACT)	1996
Ron Hopkins	Pittsburg State University	1996
Jerry Rogers	University of Kansas	1996
Sandy Schlattman	Benedictine College	1996
Don Siemsen	Manhattan Area Technical College	1996
Glen 'Skip' Sharp	NW Kansas Area Vo-Tech School	1996
Elnora Alumbaugh	MidAmerica Nazarene College	1995
Gerald Bergen	Kansas State University	1995
Kansas Board of Regents		1995
Alden Bowman	Emporia State University	1995
Paul Chrisman	Wichita State University	1995
Ronald Yingling	Ottawa University	1995

KASFAA Rising Star

This annual award provides recognition to an individual member with fewer than 5 years of experience who shows promise for future contributions to the association or the financial aid profession. This individual has demonstrated quality performance through their passion for their work while exemplifying the professionalism and dedication to the mission of KASFAA.

Kristina Blanck	Manhattan Christian College	2023
Daisha Holmes	Johnson County Community College	2022
April Sidesinger	Washburn University	2021
Jillian Palan	Johnson County Community College	2020
Joshua North	Highland Community College	2019

Committee of the Year

The committee of the year is selected each year by the KASFAA President who recognizes them at the annual Awards Banquet for their outstanding service.

Conference Planning Committee	2023
Archive Committee	2022
Outreach Training	2021
Membership Committee	2021
Association News & Publicity	2020
Membership Committee	2019
Finance Committee	2018
Welcome Committee	2017
Awards Committee	2017
Electronic Resources Committee	2015
College Goal Sunday Committee	2014